The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing."During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Exper

In this memo vice president of Alta Manufacturing recommends to shorten the three work shifts at Alta Manufacturing by one hour to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents. He also argues that by doing so the productivity will also be significantly improved as the employees will get adequate amounts of sleep. To support this recommendation he also points out that the nearby Panoply Industries where the work shifts are one hour shorter have reported thirty percent less on-the-job accidents. Finally, the manager cites that the Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many on-the-job accidents is fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. However, the argument relies on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions, which render it unconvincing as it stands.

In the first place, no evidence has been offered to support the assumption that the significant contributing factor in many on-the-job accidents is fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Lacking such detailed analysis of the reasons these on-the-job accidents happen, it would be foolish to attribute all of them to fatigue and sleep deprecation among the workers.

The author also assumes that the nearby Panoply Industries on-the-job accidents are thirty percent lesser do to the work shifts which are one hour shorter than Alta Manufacturing. However, there are many factors that could account for the lesser on-the-job accidents at the Panoply Industries , other than the mere fact that their work shift is one hour shorter than that of Alta Manufacturing . For example, the safety standards at Panoply Industries would have been significantly above par when compared with Alta manufacturing, the safety awareness among the employees can also have been one of the factors.

In the second place, the vice president cites that the reduction in the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta and will thereby increase productivity. However, the author provides absolutely no evidence that overall worker productivity is attributable in part to the number of on-the-job accidents. Although common sense informs me that such a relationship exists, the author must provide some evidence of this cause-and-effect relationship before I can accept the author's final conclusion that the proposed course of action would in fact increase Alta's productivity.

However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, the reduction of on-the-job accidents and its direct relation with increase in productivity, how will the author ensure that the workers will use the additional hour of free time to rest or to sleep, Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the him are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument that shortening of work shifts by one hour would reduce the on-the-job accidents and would in turn improve productivity is poorly supported and makes a number of questionable assumptions. To convince me that shorter work shifts would reduce Alta's on-the-job accident rate, the author must provide clear evidence that work-shift length is responsible for Alta's accidents. The author must also supply evidence to support his final conclusion that a lower accident rate would in fact increase overall worker productivity.