The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouse in several cities.

“Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services”

While it may be true that the effectiveness of pest control companies as stated by the author may vary from each other, this author’s argument does not make a cogent case for mentioning several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. It easy to understand why the author make a move to return to Buzzoff for all their pest control services at their fast-food warehouses. But this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to evaluation of the pest control services between the two-pest control company. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes the pest control service by the fly-away pest control is of highly ineffective to their food storage warehouse. This is merely an assumption made without solid ground. For example, what if the latter company mentioned by the author render service in their palm city warehouse will pest reduced their damage or vice versa? Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that they have weight the competency of the two-company involved in both location of their warehouses.

The argument readily claims that the author also points out that the worth of goods based on the author analysis is not stated and this can not be effectively used to determine the quality of their services. What if the food destroyed by the pest is less expensive to the the one destroyed by fly-away pest control company?

Finally, the author cites that the price charged by buzzoff is considerably lower. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respect, and raises several skeptical question.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable detailed analysis of a food distribution company with food storage warehouse in several cities. Finally, to evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about how the companies carry out their pest control services and the analysis of the period to determine the quality of their services.