The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc.

The author of this recommendation claims that the factory should discontinue use of the Endure manufacturing process for making more profits. To justify this recommendation, the author cites the following facts. Based upon a survey which indicates that customers tend to purchase the sock every three months. In addition, the primary future of socks for most of the respondents is colorful. Scrutiny each of these facts, however, reveal hat none of them lend credible supports to the recommendation.

First, the author provides no provide assurance that the survey on which the argument depends is statistically reliable. We need to know about the number of respondents, their age, or even their cities. Indeed, if most people who took part in the survey were in a certain small area, so the author can not generalize the survey’s result to nationwide. Moreover, if the number of respondents was too low to ensure that all people purchase socks every three months or durability is not important for them.

Second, base on the fact that respondents buy the sock every three months, the author infers that customers do not need durable socks. However, it is entirely possible that customers like to buy new socks, while they still use their old socks. In addition, they may use different color socks in the diversity of situations, so they need to have many socks in the home. Without considering this possible scenario, the author cannot justifiably conclude that customers do not need the durable stocks.

In third place, the soundness of the conclusion that discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process yields the increased profits of the company should be answered by the author. Although, common sense informs me that company can decrease the cost of production process by this suggestion,

In fact, the company decreases the cost of the production process by this suggestion, while the factory can lose a part of customers as well as its profits, which are can be significant. Since, the author relies on the limited information and ignores many effective factors on profits, I can not take the author final conclusion seriously.

In sum up, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide clear evidence that the survey’s respondents reflect the general population. In addition, we need to know about all possible factors that customers consider for purchasing socks.