The following appeared in a memorandum from administrative head of the international students’ activities at Rydell College

“To better attend to the needs of the international students being admitted to Rydell College, we should build a new dining hall that serves food to students at subsidized rates. The current dining hall is very old and serves only expensive items and dishes, something that will certainly prevent future international students from applying to Rydell College. Building a new dining hall will avert this possibility and will definitely lead to a dramatic increase in a popularity of Rydell College. Moreover, a new dining hall will help Rydell College to justify an increased budget for educational improvement this year. Building a new dining hall will therefore be a great step towards enhancing the ranking of Rydell College.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that there is need of new dining hall with subsidized rates in the Rydell College to attend students need. This is because current dining hall is old and also serves expensive items. New dining hall will increase the standards of the college and will also help in justifying the increased budgets of the college for educational improvement. Therefore it will help to attract students and increase college ranking. Initial this argument looks convincing but after reading carefully we can find many loopholes in this statement.

Firstly, it states that there is a need to build a new dining for international students as cureent ne is old and costly. But it is nowhere mentioned that students have their meal in the dining hall of the college. There is a possibility that students might have find other places for their meal. Another possibility is that students might be cooking food for themselves. Also the rates of the food are not mentioned. So unless and untill we get to know the actual rates we cannot decide whether the dish is expensive or cheap. Though they have mentioned they will subsidize the rates but we dont know whether it will be affordable to those students or not. Therefore unless and until we get to know the rates we cannot decide whether the students will use their dining hall or they will eat somewhere else.

Secondly, they stated that building a new dining hall will attract the international students and will increas the popularity. But students select the college on the basis of the factors like education, facuty, placements and other factors which affect their education. Mostly students dont select the college on the basis of the dining hall they provide or by the rates of their dishes. In most of the cases international students are well prepared to cook their own food or they know other places from where they will get their food. Therefore by building a new dining hall wont attract the students as they select college on the basis of the education provided by them.

Thirdly, it is stated that a new dining hall will justify the budget of increase in educational improvement. This statement is not valid as the dining hall budget is not considered in the educational budget of a college. There are always different budgets for education and other stuffs like canteen, dining etc. Therefore adding new dining hall will justify the increase in educatinal improvement wont support the statement.

Also it has stated that building a new dining hall will enhance the rank of the Rydell College. But the ranking of the college is based on education provided by it, faculties, students and placements. Dining hall wont affect the ranking of the college as ranking will be given on the basis of factors related to education only. Therefore building new dining hall wont affect the ranking of college as it does not affect the education of the student.

Hence from the above statements we can conclude that building a new dining hall wont affect the ranking of the colllege and also it wont attract iternational students as both of them are dependent on the factors like educatiion, faculty, placements, etc