The following appeared in a memorandum issued by a large city’s council on the arts:

“In a recent citywide poll, 15 percent more residents said that they watch television programs about the visual arts

than was the case in a poll conducted five years ago. During these past five years, the number of people visiting our

city’s art museums has increased by a similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that supports public television,

where most of the visual arts programs appear, is now being threatened with severe cuts, we can expect that

attendance at our city’s art museums will also start to decrease. Thus some of the city’s funds for supporting the arts

should be reallocated to public television.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and

the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions

underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can

also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would

make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument states that the city council should reallocate some of the city’s arts funds to public television to prevent expected decline in museum attendance. Since corporate funding in public television is facing severe cuts, the city council believes it will negatively affect the attendance in city’s arts museums. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Furthermore, the conclusion relies heavily on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore, the argument is ill-reasoned, unconvincing, and has several flaws.

Firstly, the argument implicitly assumes that the increase in number of people visiting art museums is because of a similar increase in number of residents who watch television programs on visual arts. This assumption is a stretch and is not substantiated in any way. For instance, what if the population that visits art museums does not overlap with the one watching television programs? It could be the case that more people are visiting museums because of establishment of new museums in the city or decrease in ticket prices. The argument would be much clearer if it explicitly establishes the causation between television programs on visual arts and their effect on attendance in museums.

Secondly, the argument states that cuts in corporate funding in public television will lead to reduction in the volume of visual arts programs. Again, this is a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not provide any solid evidence to arrive at the claim. For example, the cuts in funding could be only in programs that are not related to arts such as sports, news, or movies. Then, in that case even if there is a decrease in funding, the arts programs will not suffer and remain immune. Without considering various aspects of funding, the claim is not at all convincing.

Finally, the conclusion states that city council should reallocate some funding from arts to public television. However, it fails to take into account the negative implications of reduction in funds that support existing art museum in the city. What if the reallocation to public television can not compensate for targeted decrease in arts-related funding? In that case, the city council’s plan would not work. Without this, one gets the impression that the conclusion is more of a wishful thinking instead of evidence-based outcome.

In summary, the argument is flawed and therefore not convincing. Without covering all possible factors and providing evidence for underlying assumptions, the argument is rather weak and open to debate. If the argument incorporates above mentioned aspects, the recommendation could become well-reasoned and logical.