The following appeared in a memorandum issued by a large city’s council on the arts:

“In a recent citywide poll, 15 percent more residents said that they watch television programs about the visual arts

than was the case in a poll conducted five years ago. During these past five years, the number of people visiting our

city’s art museums has increased by a similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that supports public television,

where most of the visual arts programs appear, is now being threatened with severe cuts, we can expect that

attendance at our city’s art museums will also start to decrease. Thus some of the city’s funds for supporting the arts

should be reallocated to public television.”

The memorandum by the council on arts suggests that the funds for supporting the arts should be reallocated to public television by asserting that the attendance at the city's art museum will decrease once the corporate funding for public television is decreased. However, the argument has various assumptions and claims that are incorrect. The argument makes three critical errors which makes this a weak argument.

First, the argument claims that there is a correlation between increase in the number of people watching television program about the visual arts and increase in the number of people who visit the art's museum without giving citing any evidence for the claim. There is no way to know, without looking at further facts, whether these two increases are actually correlated. It is very much possible that the overall enthusiasm in arts has increased in past five years and hence people are both watching television program related to arts and going to the arts museum. Without any evidence, this claim of correlation is weak and weakens the argument.

Second, the argument assumes that if the corporate funding that supports the public television is cut, the attendance to the museum will also decrease. This assumption has no evidence or basis provided. It could very well be possible that the attendance at the city's museum will increase once there are fewer television programs related to visual arts. We cannot make this assumption without any evidence. This assumption is based on another assumption that the number of people who watch television programs related to visual arts will decrease because of decrease in funding. This assumption has no basis. The viewership might remain same, or increase as long as the programs are not cancelled. Even if the programs are cancelled, such a move could leave people yearning to watch arts and that might increase the attendance at the Museum. Hence, without proper justification, the assumption made by the argument in the memorandum is weak and is another critical error in the argument.

Finally, the argument does not take into account whether there will be lesser funding available to the museum if the funds that support arts is reallocated to public television. If the museum has less funding, it's attendance might be negatively affected. Without this information, the argument lacks good grounds on which the claims are made.

The author of the memorandum needs to include evidence that can provide the validity to the assumptions and the correlation made in order to thoroughly evaluate the argument, without which, the argument is inherently weak.