The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

High sales and good consumer base is necessary for any business to thrive. Without it, the business will not be able to self sustain and as a result run insolvent. The concerns raised by manager are justified in trying to maintain the sales of KNOW radio station. However, the arument given by manager is nebulous, leaving many questions answered and backed by apocryphal assumptions.

Firstly, the manager failed to address questions like the possible reasons as to why people stopped listening to KNOW radio. It is possible the KNOW radio station plays old songs which is savoured by older people and might seem insipid to younger generation causing a decline in overall listeners despite rise in fifty plus consumers. The younger generation would be more interested in rock and roll music of their own generation to which they can relate better. A possible method to implement the change would be keeping fixed time slots for melodies of all generations, thereby attracting not only the older generation, but also the younger generation instead of shifting to 24-hours news channel.

Secondly, the manager failed to account for questions relating to the taste of music of younger generation and mode of listening music. What if the younger generation no longer listens rock and roll music? If potential consumers below fifty years of age listen more avidly to newer forms of music like EDM, then it would be a better to keep some slots for these types of music. In order to find the type of music to which younger people attach themselves to, KNOW radio station should conduct surveys and find out the best possible way of slotting songs, incorporating all genres of music. What if the millenials no longer use CD’s or cassettes, which are sold in music stores, to listen music and instead use sophisticated gadgets like ipod for listening music? To keep up with the new demands of consumers, KNOW radio station should also look for opportunities to sell electronic music gadgets since use of CD’s is obsolete now.

Thirdly, the manager does not provide any evidence of similarity between tastes of consumer in this city as compared with neighbouring cities. Do the consumers of this city find radio news as attractive as consumers of neighbouring cities? It is possible that the consumers of this city find radio news humdrum and unattractive and instead prefer visuals of news with the help of Television and online news media as opposed to predilection of consumers of neighbouring cities. If this is the case, then shifting to radio station would result in further decline in consumer base. Are the consumers in neighbouring cities well off to afford Television sets? The high number of consumer for news radio station in neighbouring cities might be because of inaffordability of other alternatives like television which might not be the case in this city. Therefore, changing to radio station without taking into account tastes and financial condition of neighbouring cities would be illogical and imprudent.

In view of above arguments, it is evident that manager failed to provide justification for many questions based on viability to change to news stations. The present argument put forth by manager would prove to be inefficient in moving the other stakeholders to shift to 24 hour news channel and abandon the music base created with earlier efforts.