The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, the author recommends that WWAC radio program should change to a news and talk format to reverse the decline in the listener numbers. To support his/her claim, the author cites the increasing population out of people moving there after their retirement. Moreover, more information is presented for the sake of envincing news and talk format is more popular instead of traditional music among people. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears, a closer scrutiny reveals this recommendation lacks crucial support and therefore we need more evidence to evaluate the author's recommendation.

To start off, we need more evidence to verify if new residents actually occupy majority of local population. While the author mentioned that population growth mainly stems from new residents after retirement, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that the number of this population actually outstraps the remaining total amount of people. Thus, additional evidence about the exact number of new residents could gain more significance to determine whether WWAC should take them as the major audience as the prominence in amount. If new information shows new residents is just a trivial part out of the total population, the would prove unwarranted and the author's recommendation will be weakened. On the contrary, if new evidence divulges the opposite situation, the author's recommendation will gain more weights.

Furthermore, we need further evidence to ascertain news and talk format is really popular in this region. First of all, while decline in local sales of recorded music seems convincing for decay of music enthusiaism, an closer analysis would lend more credibility to check if music really lose attraction in local people. If we find that people still are fond of music and are inclined to resort to other kinds of music entertainment instead of recorded music, the jaded music popularity will be in great doubt and the author's recommendation would be rendered much less advisable. Second, we need to understand comparsion between news and talk format in local people and whether news and talk actually overshadow music consumption. If evidence shows that people just choose news and talk for occasional switching from music and they are still enamored with music, we are unconvinced of the author's conclusion to adapt to news and talk format.

Last but not least, granted that new resident's dominance in number and news and talk format's popularity, an more accurate evaluation of the author's recommendation need additional information. On one hand, specific evidence is needed to show whether news and talk formats are apt to radio station and doesn't lose any power for audience when finishing such adaption. If yes, the author's recommendation will be strengthened. On the contrary, if they become actually boring even insipid compared with before, we are reluctant to believe that they are still engaging for audience, especially for new residents. On the other hand, we also need more information to check whether new residents' interest should be aligned with popularity of this region, namely equating with news and talk format, as new residents may keep slightly different from the local citizen after their new coming situation. If given the positive answer, we're inclined to accept the author's recommendation.

To sum up, the evidences cited by the author could not sufficiently make his/her conclusion convincing. Therefore, in order to plumb his/her conclusion, we need to more evidence to better evaluate the recommendation proposed in the argument.