The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum provided, the manager suggests that WWAC radio station should change from a rock-music format to a news and talk format. This allegation is based on the phenomenon of a decline in listener numbers regardless of the growth in total population. They go on to assert that due to the fact that the boom comprises retirees in major, and that the form of news and talk could truly appease the tastes of the additions to the society. Such deduction lacks proper evidence, and may be proven spurious should certain aspects be considered.

First and foremost, it should be mentioned that the decline in listener numbers is possibly independent of the fact that people decided to reside in this community after retirement. It is safe to assume that most of the pre-existing population still calls this area home, and if their tastes in radio hasn't changed, there wouldn't have been a decline in the number of people who tune in to the channel. From the points mentioned above, it can be inferred that the fall in listeners is likely to have resulted from a change in the taste of the listeners that have been in residence for longer than the retirees.

Equally noteworthy is the prevalence of radio usage in the modern era. Along the many innovations of technology, the possession and reverence for cellphones have slowly eclipsed the once beloved radio. Therefore, in order to fortify the assertion that WWAC should transition into a news and talk format, we need to be able to prove that radio ownership is still in the majority. If the counter-evidence is found, then it is safe to say that regardless what changes the radio station would make to the channels would be fruitless, and would require a partial transformation in industry for WWAC to stay in business.

Last but not least, we should examine if the drop in record sales is truly indicative of a decline in music interest. With the advent of Spotify, Apple Music and the like, contemporary people have more and more cheaper options to consume music at their fingertips. Residents could simply subscribe to one of the aforementioned platforms in the stead of buying an abundance of CDs that would rack up the cost. If this truly is the case, then WWAC needs to reconsider whether they should simply reexamine the taste in music of the inhabitants or really deviate away from their music format. Should the first be the case, then it would be wiser and more efficient to just alter the niche of music that the station plays.

By way of conclusion I would like to restate the possible evidence that could strengthen or undermine the policy to move from rock-music to news and talk. Firstly, the opinions of the pre-existing proportion of the population also matters, and their taste in radio could sway where the station should go. Secondly, the ownership in radios could largely impact the success of the company, regardless what format it wishes to adopt. Finally, the drop of sales in recorded music is not enough evidence to suggest that the residents have lost taste in music altogether. Only be truly examining these three contentions could WWAC have a chance to reverse their decline in listener numbers and potentially burgeon again.