The following appeared in a memorandum from the new president of the Patriot car manufacturing company."In the past, the body styles of Patriot cars have been old-fashioned, and our cars have not sold as well as have our competitors' cars. But now, since many regions in this country report rapid increases in the numbers of newly licensed drivers, we should be able to increase our share of the market by selling cars to this growing population. Thus, we should discontinue our oldest models and concentrate instead on manufacturing sporty cars. We can also improve the success of our marketing campaigns by switching our advertising to the Youth Advertising agency, which has successfully promoted the country's leading soft drink."

The new president of Patriot car manufacturing company concludes in his memorandum that the company should stop manufacturing the old model cars and start a new production line which would make sporty car. The president also suggest that they should shift to Youth Advertising agency, to promote their new product. The argument lies on series of assumptions which are unpersuasive and illogical. A few key factors to prove it are:

First, the president concludes that body styles Patriot cars have gone out of fashion and they are not being sold as well as their competitors' cars. There are many reasons for a decrease in sales like, it might happen that Patriot company had increase price of the car and people are not able to afford it any more. It might also happen that inflation rates are very high right now and the people are thinking of saving money instead of buying a new car. It could also happen that the competitors' are selling a more advance car with better benefits and in the same range as the Patriot company, as a result people are more willing to buy the competitors car rather than Patriot.

Secondly, president claims that as there is a rapid increase in the number of newly licensed drivers, so they must focus on selling cars to the younger population. Selling cars to the younger population would not work as they are just starting a career and buying a new car is huge investment. So, many people would avoid buying a new car in their initial stage of career.

Thirdly, president suggest that they should start manufacturing sporty cars instead of old model. changing the production line completely would increase cost and it would affect the profits of the company. Sporty cars contains more powerful engine, so more fuel would be required to run it. This could also be one of the factors why people might not buy the new sporty car as it would increase the cost of running the car.

Furthermore, president suggest that they should change their marketing agency and give Youth Advertising agency a chance as they have successfully promoted the country's leading soft drink. There is no mention that how much time it took for the agency to make the soft drink the leading one. Cost of changing the agency is also not mention and if the cost if more then again profit would be hindered.

In conclusion, president should first do benchmarking to see where is the company lacking than their competitors. After that president should conduct a survey and see how many people are interested in buying a new sporty car. Finally, the president should do a proper cost analysis before making any changes in the production line or changing the advertising agency.