The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Juniper Cafe, a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small american city:

“We must reduce overhead here at the cafe. Instead of opening at 6 am weekdays, we will now open at 8 am. ON weekends, we will only be open from 9 am until 4 pm. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the ours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to assess the reasonableness of both the prediction and the argument upon which it is based. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

There are many beneficial questions that can aid Juniper’s Cafe idea in trying to save money. The café claims that decreasing their hours throughout the week will save money on utilities, employee wages, and other operating costs, however this is not the strongest strategy for the company to remain in business.

Does shortening hours decrease the amount of work time by a significant number? Even if the store opens at 8 am, employees will still have to brew coffee before officially opening, meaning time will not be saved on employee wages before the door opens, and even after. At the end of the day, workers still have to clean up the shop, which they can do while still being open. An example of this is Wal-Mart. Wal-Mart went to being open 24 hours a day when they realized that employees are still in the building restocking with all utilities still in use, including lighting and rent. This led the company to hire a couple cashiers to be at the front of the store. Juniper Cafe needs to create a comparison analysis of profit and revenue to see how much the company would truly save through this process.

Looking back at the utilities, how much is really being saved? The café still has to pay for rent, electricity and its own expiring products. If the hours are shortened, they are still paying for the overall rent of the building, ultimately leading to a loss of funds. This is another reason Wal-Mart dedicated more time to their 24 hour strategy. Could this also lead to a grander loss of assets with less time being available for them to be bought?

To counter the idea of shortening hours, what is the worst day of the week? Looking at the most popular times for a café to be open, the morning will most likely have the greatest traffic due to morning commuters. This can be checked with an analysis of the best times of day for the company. Juniper Cafe should instead close one day a week instead of shortening overall hours. This will fit their idea of saving money on employee wages as well as keeping customers happy with their hours. It might even draw a pull to consumers when they realize the café will not be operating on a certain day, similar to how Chick fil-a runs with not being open on Sundays.

The overall question of this argument is whether shortening operation hours during the week will increase money. Before the company makes any rash decisions, they will need to experiment and research on the best hours the company makes money in, and then will need to create a low-medium-high business strategy on their next steps. They could even create a marketing campaign, such as speciality drink nights, to drive in more customers.