“Scientific theories, which most people consider as ‘fact,’ almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as ‘factual’ with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your viewpoint, consider the ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Although many people readily believe in scientific theories, they are not always factual, which has been proven by the internet, history, and situations that fall under the Mandela Effect. Each of these categories help bring to life the notion that readers should take any information with a grain of salt.

From the start of writing, humans had been skeptical of the shape of the Earth. Many believed the Earth to be as flat a table. This “fact” has been disproven experiment after experiment, even as recently as of 2017 in a flat earthers documentary where the flat earthers ultimately disproved themselves with the use of cut out metal and lasers. In history, many had been hung for the fact of saying the world is round, only later to come to the scientific truth that the world is, indeed, round.

Similar to the skepticism of the Earth, many believe any article they read online. In the early 2000s, a “fact” spread across the web stating that during a lifetime, humans accidentally swallow seven spiders in their sleep. As many YouTube videos and more have proven, the amount of spiders one accidentally swallows is significantly greater due to the fact that spiders prefer warm, moist areas. This is just another “fact” disproven, which was originally created to test what readers would believe if they read it off of the internet.

Many times, people coherently believe facts which are later proven untrue. This is known as the Mandela Effect, after former African President Mandela was believed to be dead when, in actuality, he was not. Many figures have fallen into this category of believing someone is dead, including Steve, who was thought to have died from cancer when he is still very much alive, from the well known children’s show Blue’s Clues. The Mandela Effect is one of the strangest theories that get thousands of humans to believe something that is truly not factual.

While we have seen that scientific theories are not always correct, it should be stated that some have been proven. In 2019, NASA proved Einstein’s theory on the existence of black holes in our own universe. As one hears theories, they need to be careful and conduct the research. From the elemental table, researchers can see spaces left open for un-found elements. As of now, some of these elements have been found, proving the scientific theory of the table. While this is true, however, it took years of research to prove these theories.

In time, scientific theories can be proven true or be modified to fit the truth. Each theory should be looked into before officially stating the fact, especially with how easy it is for humans to believe what they read, such as with the spider experiment. Scientific Theories are theories after all waiting to be proven true. They should not be considered facts until proven similar to how humans are all innocent until proven guilty.