The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The first question that should be answered is if the clients that rent movies in Movies Galore store pertain to the same profile. For example, it is possible that downtown Marston is a neighbourhood characterized by the presence of lots of families, and, hence, its inhabitants prone to renting movies before 6:00 P.M., because their children have to sleep early. However, this, or other alternative explanation, may not apply to other zones of the city, in which it is plausible that more adults or university students live, and they may prefer to rent movies later. To answer this question, a survey to establish the most typical hours in which people tend to rent movies should be done, as, for example, in other stores it might be advisable to open later, rather than closing earlier.

What kind of movies are most popular amongst the typical clients in the zone? This question, in my opinion, is the second that should be addressed. Further, emphasizing on the example presented in the last paragraph, it is clear that children do not like the same movies as adolescents, or university students as retired people. Because of this, not everyone may be looking for the newest movies on billboard, but rather to classic movies that help remembering childhood. To address this question, a study on the most rented genres of movies, as well as their release year, ought to be done, in order to determine which films could be retired without decreasing dramatically the amount of rents.

Is there an alternative way to decrease operating costs, different from the ones proposed? This is the final question that, in my opinion, should be answered. To exemplify this, if one of the shops generated much less profit than the others, it could be thought that it would not need the same number of employees as the other ones. Firing workers that are not needed would be a way to reduce costs, and, hence, increase benefits.