The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is undeniable that errors in life have been the key to success for many people. Prototypes are highly common in industry nowadays, and they are made in order to detect possible failures in the future. Further emphasizing on this claim, many researchers and technology developers have struggled with reality before being able to obtain the perfect solution for the problem they have been studying. Hence, if this role of errors in reaching the nearest-to-flawless solution is common in most of the fields of knowledge, why should be education different?

I am convinced that ignoring errors or bad actions is not favourable, and it is necessary to highlight and accept them in order to search for things to improve to avoid their repetition in life. To exemplify this, imagine that a child does not know that bullying is a completely loathe act, which immorality cannot be discussed. If his/her teachers and parents ignored the problem, no change in his ethics would take part, and, thus, he would continue doing it without regretting. This view has implicit a way of thinking; this is, that moral and ethics have an important social factor, rather than being totally inherent to our condition as human beings. Nevertheless, as many philosophical and psychological studies support this theory, its validity is plausible.

On the other hand, the ability to recognize errors in an autonomous manner is fundamental to improve our way of doing things in life. If, as a child, one always relied only on his parents or teachers to detect possible errors, without forethinking after doing a work, his/her skills to establish if there are better ways to do things would not be developed. However, this claim does not mean that every negative action should be ignored, but that they should be sometimes highlighted, and a solution ought to be searched by children, rather than by the one who perceives the error.

However, in terms of praising positive actions, I completely agree with that point of view. Many studies have proved that motivation is a crucial factor in productivity for people, and that one of the keys to attain it is giving positive feedback when these actions are done. Who, as a child, did not like to receive positive opinions about the pictures or redactions made, which gave a motivation to continue working like that? If everyone referred to their past experience, it would become clear that this claim is veritable.

As a counterpart to the last argument, an excessive praising can, as well, be negative for children. The main reason for this is that they can become unable to criticize themselves. Additionally, if as a child someone is always told that his/her work is perfect, it is possible that he/she develops a perfectionist personality, which may lead to depression, obsession and anxiety in extreme cases. In this sense, one should control how much positive feedback is given to his/her children.

In conclusion, although I am sure that the praise of positive actions, in a controlled way, is completely advisable, errors should not be ignored, but rather identified in many occasions.