The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The idea to reduce operating expenses at Movies galores ten video rental stores to reverse the recent decline in their profits is needed to be more justified. Apparently it may seem that cutting operating expenses will help out to solve the financial problem in Movies Galore ten video rental stores. This action undermines the desired increase in profit of the video rental stores. Some assumptions are needed to be explained and justified more in detail.

Popularity for special bargains have played an important role to decide the action taken by the Movies Galore stores. The assumption of raising rental prices will not be a suitable technique to increase profit might not be true in real attempt. They have not tried to incresae rental prices and so how they become sure of customers will ? The customers might or might not be ready to pay more for great movies. So this assumption is an unjustified one.

The downtown Marston significantly decrease its operating expense by closing three hours earlier than before. The elimination of all movies released more than five years might not be a effective action in the long run. For short time it might be beneficial to reduce operating expenses. But the Movies Galore will lose its customer that will affect the profit it make.

The assumption that these actions will not decline their reputation is not accurate at all. The customers who are prefer the time slot that has been reduced to lower operating expenses will hamper their reputation by short operating time. The elimination of older movies will also affect their reputation to provide a great variety of movies of different times.

Finally the decision to cut operating expenses might not help them to reverse the decrease in profit. So the assumptions it have been made must be scrutinized more carefully. Alternatives technique should be considered to compare the overall effects.