The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memorandum, the owner of Movies Galore recommends that, in order to solve the problem of decrease in profits at their store, they need to reduce their operating expenses in all their ten stores like the store in downtown Marston did. While the owner’s recommendation might be valid, it rests on several unfounded assumptions, that if true, will drastically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, these three questions need to be answered to consider the validity of the argument.

Firstly, does closing at 6 pm rather than 9 pm have the same effect it had in downtown Marston in the other stores? It is possible that, the people in the areas the other stores are located prefer to or go out more In later times after 6pm. Perhaps the customers at downtown Marston are majorly old people who might like going out to the rentals early in the day and the customers at the other stores are majorly young peoples and middle age who are fine going out later to rent a movie. If these scenarios are true, then, the owner’s argument about the closing time is greatly weakened.

Secondly, does the customers of the other Movies Galore store like newer movies or the ones released more than five years ago? It is possible the customers at the store downtown Marston likes latest movies which might have caused and increase in profit, but these might not be the case in the other stores. The customers of the other stores might like older movies and eliminating them from the stock may lead to more decline in profits. These might even cause a substantial loss of customers. If the above true, the owner’s argument about eliminating movies older than five years from the stock does not hold water.

Finally, does closing the store early at 6pm and eliminating movies that are five years old and above have any correlation to reversing the decline in profit? Perhaps, the owner has erroneously evaluated the effect of closing the store at 6 pm and eliminating old stock on the profits decline. If this above argument has merit, then, the owner’s argument is greatly flawed.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to dependent on unwarranted assumptions. The above three questions need to be answered in order to evaluate the validity of the author’s recommendation. The customer’s visiting time, their preferences and the accuracy of the author’s conclusion all need to be considered. If the author is able to provide answers to the questions, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the recommendation.