Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The prompt suggest that corporations should either take into consideration the wellbeing of the environment they operate in or should only be concern with operating within the law and not worrying about the wellbeing of the societies the found themselves. However, I mostly agree with the stance that corporations should in fact improve the wellbeing of the society they operate in with the following two reasons. Although, I do concede that, certain corporation do not need to put the wellbeing of the society into consideration, so far as they operate within the law and the government at large cater for the needs of the society.

First of all, an unwelcoming working environment will in no way do any good to the corporation and the society at large. Consider a corporation that utilizes large machinery and operates in a quiet environment. The noise generated might cause a huge disturbance to the innocent people of the community, which by the way may have schools and hospitals. These might make the society to take actions to cub the corporation’s noise pollution. And this, if escalated might put the company’s production at hold and at worst put the corporations out of business or in the area. In this kind of situation, it is important for any corporation to consider the wellbeing of their working environment and the community they operate in order to reach a compromise, which will be beneficial to both parties in the long run.

Secondly, a community prone to natural disasters will definitely affect a corporation operating in the area if they do not promote the wellbeing of the society they operate in. For example, a rich company can help a society and support them in times of disaster and even provide safety measures in place in advance to a disaster. This will both help the corporation in carrying out undisturbed operations and help the community at large. A safe working environment will is pertinent to an increased production and promote the society wellbeing.

In conclusion, while it may be okay for certain corporation to operate only within the law and make the most money, it is important for a corporation to cater for the wellbeing of the society they operate in.