The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 PM rather than 9:00 PM and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores”.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memorandum the owner of Movies Galore suggests that by initiating a chain-wide change in inventory and hours of operation that worked for one specific store, the entire chain will benfit by following the same practices. There are many problems with this sentimate that will untimately need to be addressed.

First, the owner states that raising rental prices is not a viable way to imporve profits based upon the reputation of Movies Galore. However, the owner does not consider that the “famous bargains” might be much lower than the nearest competitor, leaving room for an increase that might still make Movies Galore the most bargain-worthy rental store. Additionally, the owner does not take into account that a shift in types of special bargains might appeal to renters. For example, if overall prices are raised but loyalty programs are instituted, this might increase renter frequency in order to achieve the “bargain” promised after a certain loyalty action is complete (such as the rental of five movies, etc.).

Second, the owner states that the downtown store reduced its hours and eliminated the stock of movies that had been released more than five years ago, thereby eliminating a portion of operating costs. What the owner fails to take into account is the demographics of this location. Historically, shoppers in different areas have different preferences and tollerances. Marketing and business professionals utilize this demographic information to suggest best practices for organizations as the data might suggest a deviation from the standard say, store hours. In short, what worked for one store will not always work for another store if the results were more an endproduct of the demographic than standard practice.

Finally, the owner fails to evaluate other factors such as number of employees, scheduling , and pay. A disorganized or redundant employee schedule can increase operating costs by allowing for more than one person to be paid to do the same job when only one employee is required at a particular time. Further, if superflous staff is generally on-shift, this would also increase opperating costs regularly.

To conclude, in order to agree to implement the suggested changes more research needs to be completed. As discussed, the owner needs to address; (a) whether or not alternative options are available, such as altering the video rental prices in a manner that still appeals to customers, (b) if the results achieved at the downtown store were a mere factor of location and shopper demographics, and lastly, (c) if staffing issues could be a factor in the imbalalance of operating costs to profit. Only after exploring these options would it be possible to determine if the proposed changes would precipitate the desired result.