Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is undoubtly true that corporations have a responsibility to the societies and environments in which they operate. To that end, it is also true that companies have a responsibility to make as much money as possible. It is therefore my opinon that both responses are true only if combined.

Evaluating the first statement pertianing to the responsibility of companies to society, etc. we can deduce that an example of this might be that a company remains dedicated to reducing harmful emissions that might otherwise contaminate a water supply by enhancing its environmental protocols; thus this demonstrates a responsibility to the community. Another community centered example could be the donating a portion of profits to the local park system so that all residents might enjoy the fruits of this corporations labor. Yet, It is clear from both of these statements that the corporation must make money in order to contribute to the well being of the community; therefore, the corporations are obliged to make as much money as possible in order to complete this task.

Looking at this issue from yet another angle, the word “responsibility” might put some off. For our purposes, the term responsibility applies to a moral obligation. In this sense, we must conceed that corporations are morally obligated to make as much money as possible. Why are they morally obligated? This is where the argument becomes entangled: corporations are morally obligated to make as much money as possible because the employees, and thus the communities and environements in which they live are affected by monetary outcomes. From this angle we can see, yet again, that both statements go hand in hand. In other words, you cannot strive for one without the other.

However, evaluating each of these statements seperately could lead one to enter a moral quandry in which there is a debate between self interest and charity. It can be argued that corporations are, at least in the United States, part of the capatalistic society by which the guiding priciple is to make money, and lots of it. This narrow focus could lead some astray from the idea that companies have a responsibility to the community. On the flip side, making as much money as possible (by legal means), can inadvertantly lead to the promoting of well-being within the community by means of, say increasing the local ecomony and promoting general well-being through employment increase or job security.

From the above discussion we can see that it is in fact true that corporations have a responsibility to make as much money as possible, while also having a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate; however, the two are not mutually exclusive and are also not likely to be. What is also true is that both of these derivatives are likely outcomes of eachother. Therefore, while both sentiments can be enacted on individually, in most cases both are true by default.