The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 PM rather than 9:00 PM and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores”.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The new corporate strategie suggested by the owner of Movies Galore is not based on sound analysis of the facts presented in the passage. Therefore, it is questionable that the suggested measures would have the desired outcome. For this conclusion to be valid, we would need further clarification.

First of all we are not given information about the full consequences of the newly implemented measures for the store in downton Marston. While it is mentioned, that the store significantly decreased its operating expenses, we are not informed about the consequences these actions had on revenue. It is reasonable to assume, that closing three hours earlier and reducing the number of movies available has a major effect on the income the store generates. For this new policy to be overall profitable, the decrease in operating expenses would have to outweight the potential reduction of income. In order to make this conclusion, the owner would need quantitative information on both the revenue and the costs.

Secondly, the time frame presented is relatively short. It is highly critical to translate this one-month effect to a general trend. The new policy could habe been implemented in a month where expenses are generally low because of a large number of holidays. For reasonable inference, we would need a longer observation.

This brings us to our next point. We are not given information on the measure of comparison or the order of maginitude, when the owner speaks of a "substantial" decrease in costs. The validity of his conclusion depends on the fit of the comparison. The new policy could habe been implemented in a month, where expenses are generally low because of a large number of holidays. On the other hand, he could compare different years, where other factors than his newly implemented measures could influence the observation.

Lastly, we have to question the hasty translation of the results for the one store in downton Marston to all other nine Movies Galore stores. The owner does not provide further information on the similarities and differences between his ten stores. The store mentioned in the memorandum could be fairly exceptional, wheras the other stores operate in completely different settings. They could be confronted with different competition, customers or even inventory. With a more detailed analysis of such differences between the stores, the owner could make a more educated decision on the effect his measures would have on his business.

These points illustrate further answers that have to be provided, for the recommendation to be likely to generate the desired results.