Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Companies have a responsibility that exceeds immediate financial interests. Moreover, adding to a well functioning and prosper society is in their best interest.

An individual corporation does not exist in his own isolated hemisphere. Contrary, it embeds its work in a complex system, which it mutually influences and is influenced by. In order to operate under the best conditions, a company should therefore invest in non-monetary factors such as the well-being of the society and environment.

Nearly all companies favor a thriving general economy. Furthermore, we know that the general economy functions best, if the society is stable and optimistic. If a private corporation would not invest in the well-being of their employees and other stakeholders, it would risk a strike or even a general uprising amongst citizens. On the other hand, happy people are more likely to spend their money and contribute to an effective functioning of the free market, which would in turn help the company. These examples illustrate, why it is important for a single companyto take a greater responsibility for the society as a whole.

Another reason, why coporations should have responsibility for the well-being of the general public and the planet is the discrepancy between short-term and long-term perspectives. For instance, it may be short-term profitable to exploit all natural ressources recklessly. However, the long-term implications would be desasterous. While this reckless behavior may not necessarily be in the interest of the company as a whole, it could be intended by a manager trying to get his next bonus. This individual agent, in control of the company would then sacrifice the long-term perspective of humanity and even his own company. As such principal-agent problems can not be effectively ruled out by the free market, holding private companies responsible for their action is the very best measure to avoid such pernicious outcomes.

These two points clarify my position. I do not think that financial interests and the well-being of societies and environments are necessarily conflicting. In contrast to this, I believe that long-term money-making goals and those are in perfect harmony. Therefore companies should be held responsible for their influence on the general population and the planet. Fortunately, we see an increasing awareness of these ramifications in today's economy and most companies engage in substantial programs to help their local community and the planet.