The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The number of sales or video rentals are effected by a lot of factors considering the location of the the Movies galore chain is quite discreet. The owner of the store has recommended the change based on the operating system implemented by one of the other stores which worked out well. The assumptions here taken are that all the other stores share the same attributes which affect the sales. It can be the location, the age of the population in the vicinity or even the leisure hours of individuals etc.

In order to create the desired effect and achieve the predicted result, asking the following questions will form a concrete base for success of the strategy.

Firstly, the owner needs to find out the number of people who are visiting the store at what time, based on that can he/she decide if the working hours can be cut down or shifted because that factor will affect the overall sales of the rental store as well as keep its reputation intact. If, the peak hours for the maximum number of people visiting the store is after 6:00pm then implementing the given rules might lead to decline in the number of sales.

Secondly, the age of the overall population will describe the kind of movie stock which should be discarded and which should be given on rent. If the major population of the area is above 50 years of age and prefers old movies then eliminating the portion of stocks released more than five years ago can affect the sales immensely in a negative way. In a way, the movies which are more in demand and rented frequently should be given front shelves rather than the ones which are still covered with dust.

Thirdly, the investment in the labour for providing operational services needs to be analyzed. If the payment of the staff working at the rental store differs by a huge amount for some specific duration of the day then that needs to be cut down. It is not necessary that the compensation provided to the staff grows exponentially after 6:00pm as was the case in one of the Movies Galore rental store.

The quality of stock, the people and the location of a store provides a lot of weight to the quality of the store and bolsters its financial bank balance. These attributes are highly asymmetrical and demand a high weightage for interpreting the change in sales of a rental store.