The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum, the planning department of the electric power company concludes that because of total demand for electricity in their area will not increase – and may decrease slightly. The department comes to this conclusion based on several assumption. However, as it stands now the suggestion from the department relies on further three assumptions that diminishes the credibility of the suggestion.

First of all, the author assumes that the several recent surveys are scientific and representative of people in the area where the plant is need to be installed. Author must give the information about where the survey is taken. If the survey was taken place in a small village, there may me possibility that the home owners in that area uses less energy. Additionally, if the people who are surveyed are of owners only and now of other people living in the home. Then there might be a possibility that the other people will use more energy. If either condition of above condition is true then the authors assumption is weakened.

Secondly, the author assumes that from the marketing of manufacturers about the appliances that are twice efficient than a decade ago, the people will buy that product. Author must give information about how many peoples really buy those products. For example, if manufacturers are marketing the product but people are not buying it and only using old appliances. Additionally, if the people are using more number of appliances that they used decade ago then there is possibility that there will be increase in the energy consumption. Author must give additional information for the argument to be true.

Finally, the author assumes that everyone is having new technology for better home insulating and passive solar heating for less consumption of energy. On what basis author is saying that people are having new technology. For example, if owners are having new technologies the they use it rarely, so the energy consumption will increase rather than decrease.

In the conclusion, the author may be correct about total demand for electricity in their area will not increase – and may decrease slightly. However, as it stand now, the conclusion of author is based on three unwarranted assumption. If author wand to increase the persuasiveness of the argument he must give further information.