The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the vice president recommends that using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project. This might not be the case. Author comes to this conclusion based on several assumptions. However, there are lot of unwarranted questions that author need to look before making faulty conclusion.

First of all, Author assumes that building expenses for maintenance last year were same for previous years. Is the building expenses for maintenance of Zeta were less for every year? The author’s assumption is flawed because there could be several other reasons for the less maintenance expenses. It may be possible that Zeta has used more expensive material in the construction of building which require less maintenance. For comparison both sides should be same. Furthermore, how many people are working in Alpha and Zeta Buildings? It might be possible that the people working in Zeta are very few as compared to Alpha. For eg. if people working in Alpha building are using elevator more times a day than Zeta building. So the maintenance cost of Alpha will definitely increase. Without knowing further information the author's assumption is weak.

Secondly, Author assumes that energy usage of Zeta and Alpha building are same. Which types of equipment the buildings are using? For example, if Alpha building uses heavy load equipments. Then the energy consumption of Alpha building will be definitely high. Additionally, how many people work in the building? If there are more people in the Alpha building then it might be possible that they require more electricity. Unless the author gives more information about use of energy consumption, it hard to back the author's argument.

Finally, the author assumes that the company which build the building 10 years ago will give same result now. Are there any changes in the in the company? It might be possible that most of the people working in Zeta have been changed in 10 years. Hence, they may not give same results which they gave 10 years ago. Unless the information about how many changes are done in the company the author's argument is weak.

In the conclusion, Author's recommendation is based on several assumptions which make the argument weak. In short, the unanswered questions like how many people working in building? or are there any changes in company? make the argument poorly supported. For the argument to be reasonable, author should give answer to above questions.