The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase-and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Based on the energy-saving willingness of homeowners and the development of energy-saving related technology, the author predicts the demand for electricity in this area will not increase, and thus a new electric generating plant is unnecessary. However, this argument is constructed based on several unevaluated assumptions, and it will be important for the company to consider these assumptions first.

To begin with, the author simply assumes that the energy demands for a single house will decrease according to the energy-conserving willingness of homeowners and the new technologies which can be helpful in reserving the energy. However, this assumption might be inaccurate. Since there is no information about the survey which reflected the willingness of homeowners, we have no idea how many homeowners are eager to conserve energy, and how strong their willingnesses are. If only a few of them are trying to save energy, this assumption is actually untenable and thus the energy demands may increase conversely. Besides, although thanks to the development of technology many home appliances now require less energy, new home appliances are also invented and be used for many homes because of the same reason. Thus, we can not simply affirm that the demands of energy will be lower than before. If data shows that the total energy demands in a home increase while the energy demands of a single appliance decrease, a new generating plant might be necessary then.

Besides, the author assumes that the total energy demands in this area will also decrease with a single home requiring less energy. This assumption, however, also need to be evaluated. The energy demands in this area are not determined by homes only, companies in this area may need more energy than residents, and there is no information showing whether the industrial energy-demanding will decrease. Moreover, the life energy demand can also increase with the increase of population and number of homes in this area, thus, this assumption might be proved unwarranted, and with the increase of total energy demands in this area, new generating plants will be needed.

Even all the data shows that the total demand for electricity in this area will not increase, the conclusion is still constructed based on an unproven assumption that the three old electric generating plants will still work as before. However, considering the possible decline of efficiency in generating plants, we should not confidently assume that the electricity generated will not decrease. If the old generating plants will generate less energy, a new one must be constructed then, although the total energy demands may do not change.

In conclusion, although the argument seems to be well-founded at the first glance, because some of the assumptions it depends on are still unproven, it is actually groundless.