The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee-a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author suggests that all the employees of Acme Company should be required to take the Easy Read course, according to the benefits it will give and the low cost of the course. Although supported by some examples, since the argument relies on several unanswered questions, this recommendation needs to be evaluated.

To begin with, an important question is whether the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course can truly help on improving the employees' productivity. Although the author lists two graduates as examples and they did really well in work, we can not affirm that they benefit a lot from the course, since the lack of comparison between before and after taking the course. If the first graduate can initially read very fast and the second graduate rose his role mainly because of some other reasons, then taking such courses seems not to be very helpful on them. Thus, requiring all the employees to take the course and expecting their improvement in productivity will be unreasonable.

Besides, even this course does help the employees, whether every employee will benefit from the Easy Read Course is also indispensable for evaluating this recommendation. Seems that the author believes this course will help everyone and thus recommends it to all the employees. However, the two examples mentioned in the argument might just be specialists and no evidence shows that every graduate does better in reading speed, whether this course is suitable for everyone is dubious. Requiring all of the employees to take the course will not obviously improve the overall productivity if only part of them can improve their productivity after taking the course, and even undermine the productivity because of the waste of time and sources.

After answering the two abovementioned questions, we can still not ascertain that requiring all of the company's workers to take the Easy Read course is a great recommendation since we do not know if there are other similar courses that cost less and/or have a better performance. If all of the employees are required to take courses for fast-reading, then a similar course which costs less than $500 can be definitely a better choice, no matter for the employees or for the company. Thus, without answering if a better choice exists, suggesting the company to require all of its employees to take the Easy Read course can be too perfunctory.

In conclusion, although the author believes taking the course will help improve overall productivity since he failed to answer the above questions, his recommendation is unevaluated at best.