The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material—which includes paper, plastic, and metal—should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the prompt claims that because the town’s strong commitment to recycling material, particularly, paper, plastic, and metal, the available space in the landfill predicted to be completely filled within five years, should last for considerably longer. In order for this argument to have weight, we need to examine several evidence including the data of garbage disposal this year compared to two years ago, the data of recycle material disposed annually, as well as the commitment of the respondents to a recent survey stating that more than 90 percent of the respondents would do more recycling in the future.

To begin with, the argument appeared in that memorandum might be interesting with information included by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council, yet this argument hinges on several information unstated in that memorandum. In order to prove the argument, we need to know the data showing the garbage disposal this year and two years ago. If we find the number of garbage disposal is equal or more than the maximum garbage disposed to prevent the landfill full, then the argument written in that memorandum would become fallacious.

Turning to second evidence that we should find out, we need to examine the amount of other garbage such as chemical solution, organic matters, utensils made from wood, and so on and so forth. If the amount of this kind of garbage is large enough to fill the landfill completely within 5 years, then it would not be enough to recycle paper, plastic, and metal only to other useful products. In such a case, the argument claiming that the available space in the landfill should last more than 5 years would be invalid.

Even if we find that the amount of garbage disposal does not increase significantly and the amount of garbage including plastic, metal, and paper, is much more than other various garbage, it does not necessarily mean that the landfill would be all but impossible to be filled within five years. The author states that over 90 percent of the respondents said that they would do more recycling in the future. In order for this argument to be convincing, we need to know whether the survey is sufficiently representative and whether the survey has been large enough to draw broad conclusion. If the survey is only done to 25 people from more than 1 million people inhibiting that area, then the survey would be not cogent. Moreover, although the respondents said that they would do more recycling in the future, it might or might not be true that they would do as what they said. If the people actually broke their promise, then the validity of the argument would be apocryphal.

To put it in a nutshell, the argument written in that memorandum hinges on several unstated and dubious assumption. It would be rash to conclude that the landfill would not be filled within 5 years merely by using the stated information. It would be prudent to examine other unstated evidence such as the amount of garbage disposed this year compared to two years ago, the amount of other garbage excluding paper, plastic, and metal, as well as the commitment and the validity of the survey. With this information in place, the claim would not be only convincing, but cogent.