The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material — which includes paper, plastic, and metal — should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given memorandum, the chairperson of the West Egg Council has stated that the landfill used by for garbage disposal will not be filled in next three years, as predicted by the consultants. He has arrived at this conclusion based on the town’s strong commitment to recycling of garbage. However, the argument is based on many unwarranted assumptions, which ought to be clarified by more evidences before analyzing its validity.

Firstly, the chairperson has not considered increase in garbage production in account of probable population growth in the town. It is obvious that the amount of domestic waste produced is directly proportional to the number of people. The chairperson has stated that the landfill site will not be full based on current population and their recycling incentive. It is possible that the town population is increasing and the consultants accounted for this while making the prediction. Even population boom is not impossible if the town is seeing good infrastructure development. Hence more evidence on the demographic status and population growth deems necessary before considering the validity of the argument.

Secondly, the chairperson has cited an outcome of recent survey where 90 percent of the respondents stated they would do more recycling. However, there is no details of the survey mentioned in the memorandum. Maybe the survey was conducted in a small part of the town where people might be positive towards recycling. It is also possible that the survey was carried out among very few percent of people, say 50 people in the town of 100000 people. In such scenario, the respondent may not accurately represent the sentiment of every people in the town regarding recycling and hence the argument is severely weekend. Therefore, more facts about the survey is necessary before referring to it as evidence to support the argument.

Furthermore, the chairperson has assumed that increase in pickup charges of other household garbage will promote recycling among the general populace. But people may have no problem with paying double charges. Recycling can be a tedious task and it is probable that people might have gotten faded up with it. If this is true, they would be more inclined to pay higher charges rather than continue recycling. It is also possible that due to popularity of recycling, the local retailers have increased the price of equipment required for recycling and therefore recycling might be more uneconomical. If this scenario holds merit, the basing the argument on the probable indisposition of people to pay double pickup charges does not hold water.

In epitome, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed. The author (the chairperson) needs to provide more evidences on the aforementioned subjects before the argument can be accurately evaluated based on the evidences mentioned in the memorandum.