The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material — which includes paper, plastic, and metal — should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum, the writer concluded that the garbage disposal landfill would last longer than the extrapolation made by the consultants. The writer made this conclusion based on the following evidence: the greater amount of recycling by the residents, doubling the household garbage pickup charge will increase the rate of recycling and in a survey 90 percent of respondents committed to more recycling in the future. However, the argument of the writer is flawed because of three reasons.

First of all, the writer mentioned that the rate of recycling had doubled in the last two years and therefore he assumed that less garbage will be put in the landfill. However, it may be that while the rate of recycling had doubled, the amount of garbage tripled or even more. As a result, it might be that, for the last two years, the residents have been disposing of more garbage in the landfill than the prediction. If this is true, the writer’s argument will be weakened.

Secondly, the author extrapolated that the amount of recycled material would increase in the next month because there would be an increase in the charges for picking up other household garbage. But, the author did not present any evidence that can relate to why people would increase recycling. It might be that to earn money for paying the extra charge, people will engage in odd jobs, thereby reducing their time for recycling. The consequence is less amount of recycled products. Therefore, the writer needs more data to predict what will happen in the next month.

Finally, the writer presented the people who attended the survey as the representative of all the city residents. However, it might be inappropriate because the survey might be done among only a few residents and they might be the most educated and they know the value of recycling, and the rest of the people are not the same of them in terms of knowledge. Therefore, it is unwise to predict anything based on this survey.

In conclusion, it can be said that the writer’s argument, as it stands now, is flawed and based on some unwarranted assumptions. The author needs more data to remove these fallacies from his argument to make it stronger and more plausible