The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Health Naturally made a conclusion that the company build a branch at Plainville to increase profit of the company. The vice president made such conclusion based on certain unwarranted assumptions which makes the conclusion flawed.

Firstly, the vice president assumed that the company will have new generation customers because of the school children required to participate in a fitness program. The school children might have the regular exercise without buying product from Health Naturally. Also, the vice president has also forgotten the law of supply and demand. For instance, the total number of stores selling health related products at Plainville might be to much already, which will bring competition for the company when they join.

Secondly, the vice president also assumed that the local health club which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business resurrected because of the healthy life people of Plainville is living. But this might not be so, the local health club owner might has taken other steps to revive its business. For instance, reduction of fees to pay to use the health club facilities, also, the owner might improve the quality of the service being rendered at the club. This assumption remains unwarranted and more evidence needs to be provided to make the vice president’s argument strong.

Additionally, the vice president assumed that the high sales of running shoes and exercise equipment makes his conclusion strong. However, the buying of running shoes doesn’t mean the buyer is using them to run, it might be for fashion, or just buying the shoes for the sake of buying. The exercise equipment might just be bought and left at home without using them. Without proper evidence of these buyers using the running shoes to run and using the exercise equipment to do exercise, the assumption will remain unwarranted and the conclusion flawed.

Conclusively, the assumptions of the vice president needs more evidence to make the conclusion tenable and strong. Without these evidences the conclusion is flawed.