The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, the author comes to a conclusion that to experience the most profits, they should open their new stores in Plainsville, whose residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. On the premise that the Plainsville merchant's sales are at an all-time high, the health club is experiencing more members than ever, and they can expect a new generation. However, the vice president of Health Naturally arrived at this conclusion based on these three above assumptions that if not substantiated would dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the report made by the Plainsville merchants shows that the sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at an all-time high, it is not viable to think that the customers who have purchased these items are

interested in the products of Health Naturally which sells health food and other health-related products, the residents might lean more towards exercise rather than a healthy diet. The residents might be satisfied with just their exercising and think they are fit. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author’s conclusion does not hold water.

Secondly, the local health club in Plainsville whose classes are full in weight-training and aerobics, now has more members than ever, maybe members of these classes (weight-training and aerobics) are not concerned with products offered by the store or leading a healthy life, even if they are interested in the products offered by Health Naturally, how many of the members might be interested in the products and definitively make a purchase so that the company would make a profit? In this case, the author needs more persuasive evidence to reach the conclusion about opening a new store in Plainsville.

Lastly, Plainsville’s schoolchildren requiring to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefit of regular exercise at an early age, would not mean that they can expect the younger generation to be interested in the products of their company. As children more often of the times lean towards fashionable foods which sometimes are non-healthy, and even if the children are interested in the product it is not warranted that children would possess the fund for getting the product they are interested in as they need the required money. If either case is true then the author’s conclusion about opening a new store is not persuasive.

In conclusion, it might not be profitable to open a new store in Plainsville. However, as it stands now the argument relies on three unreliable assumptions made by the vice president of Health Naturally, for these assumptions to hold water the vice president needs more persuasive evidence the assumptions