The following appeared in a newsletter distributed at a recent political rally.

"Over the past year, the Consolidated Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over one million square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and environmental disaster, since West Fredonia is home to several endangered animal species. But such disaster can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper until the company abandons its mining plans."

In the given passage, it is claimed that disasters from Crust copper company (ccc) can be prevented if consumers refuse to buy products that are made with ccc’s copper unless the company abandons its mining plan. In the argument, the author not only draws a conclusion based on vague and ambiguous terms but also uses data from a limited sample to sweeping generalization all mining plans. Furthermore, the author makes mistakes of focusing solely on ccc as the only factor of disasters.

To begin, the author needs to provide additional data regarding whether mining copper operations in ccc one and most agents of the contamination and engender to collapse animal species. Perhaps, other factors pollute the air and the water which supply animals need. Such a different plant cause pollution more than ccc’s mining operation. if the contamination result from another plant, the author’s argument would be definitely weakened.

Second of all, the author must demonstrate data regarding pollution history at least throughout twenty years, between twenty years ago and now. it is possible to the area has faced significant pollution during the period. For this reason, the author must enhance his argument.

Finally, if the assumption is true, is it possible to refuse to purchase all products made of ccc’s copper? it is possible to buy electronic devices that are made with copper, and ccc could be the only one copper supplier for this industry. if these scenarios have merits, then the conclusion is drawn in the original argument I significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the author is able to address these presumptions and conduct further research, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the argument.