The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given passage, it is claimed that disasters from Crust copper company (ccc) can be prevented if consumers refuse to buy products that are made with ccc’s copper unless the company abandons its mining plan. In the argument, the author not only draws a conclusion based on vague and ambiguous terms but also uses data from a limited sample to sweeping generalization all mining plans. Furthermore, the author makes mistakes of focusing solely on ccc as the only factor of disasters.

To begin, the author needs to provide additional data regarding whether mining copper operations in ccc one and most agent of the contamination and engender to collapse animal species. Perhaps, another factor pollute the air and the water which supply animals need. Such a different plant cause pollution more than ccc’s mining operation. if the contamination result from another plant, the author’s argument would be definetly weakened.

Second of all, the author must demonstrade data regarding polution history at least throughout twenty years, between twenty years ago and now. it is possible to area has faced significant pollution during the period. For this reason the author must enhance his argument.

Finally, if the assumption is true, is it possible to refuse purchase product made of ccc’s copper. it is possible to we should buy electronic devices which are made with copper and ccc could be only one copper supplier for this industry. if these scenario have merits, then conclusion drawn in the original argument I significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerable flawed due to its relience on several unwarranted assumptions. if the author is able to address these presumptions and conduct further research, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the argument.