The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the article concludes that in order for the businesses to be successful, they should hire only the executies who would need less than six hours of sleep per night. The author comes to this conclusion based on a study rating of 300 male and female advertising executives which revealed that executives requiring no more than six hours of sleep had higher profit margins and faster growth. However, before the argument can be properly evaluated, one would require answers to the following questions.

Firstly, how credible is the study based on which the conclusion is drawn? The author does not provide any detail about the study that was carried out which would serve to guage the accuracy of the finding. There is a possibility that the sample chosen for the study was very small and was not a representative sample of the population. Futher, it is possible that the sample chosen was a biased sample and there was an inherent fallacy in the finding of the study. Thus, if the above shortcomings are present in the study, then the author's conclusion does not hold water.

Secondly, are there any other factors apart from sleep that would affect the performance of the executives? The author prematurely assumes that the performance of the executives is solely dependent upon the number of hours of sleep and nothing else. However, this may not be true. Perhaps, the executives who reported less than six hours of sleep and were succussful had better education than those executives who reported otherwise and were not successful. Or the inherent intellectual capabilites also played a vital role in the way the executives performed. If the above mentioned factors also have a significant impact on the performance of the executives, then the author's conclusion is significantly weakened.

Finally, how can one be sure if the participants are telling the truth? The author fallaciously assumes that the executives who participated in the study are unquestionable of their veracity. There is a possibility that in order to appear highly capable person with least amount of rest or to aggrandize their self-esteem, the successful executives lied about the number of hours they slept. On the contrary, they might have slept for the same duration as not highly successful executive or even more. If the above scenario has any merit, then the author's conclusion falls flat on its face.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as the author does not provide any information addressing the above posed questions. One will be in a better position to evaluate the recommendation if the author can provide answers to the above questions, perhaps in a detailed manner leaving no room for ambiguity.