The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument which appeared as apart of a article in a business magazine, stating that advertising firms with executives needing less than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth, is not completely sound as it has many logical flaws.

Firstly, the argument suggests that there is a association between the amount of sleep needed by the executives working in the advertising firms studied and the success of their firms. This relation does not appear to be logically accurate, since 'success' of a firm, per say, depends on numerous factors, such a advertisment quality and rates, competitiveness of market, business rivals and other profitable strategies. Even though sleep is an important factor contributing to the physical well being of the employees, the amount of sleep required cannot be logically considered a valid indicator of the success of a firm.

Secondly, the study mentioned in the argument does not take in account other factors that might influence the health status of the executives. It does not state the number of male and female participants in the study, since the two sexes have different biological requirement, and sleeping hours required would not fulfil as a proper criterion as a measure or their working abilities.

Third, the argument takes is bases on a study conducted in advertisment companies, but states that all businesses should hire more employees who need less than six hours of sleep. These two statements do not quite match. The executives of the advertisement companises might not be involved in any sort of physical labour, and less thatn six hours of sleep might suffice for them. But various other firms, such as builders and construction companies need intense physical hardwork. The employees of such firms might need more sleeping hours to perform well at their work.

Moreover, the study does not take in account the number of working hours, working conditions and wages. All of these factors countribute to how well employees work in a company.

Thus, we can infer that the conclusion of the above argument that, businesses should only hire people who need less that six hpurs of sleep is not logically valid, and is full of numerous flaws. The argument can however be strengthened by conducting a comprehensive study on a wider range, including employees form different ranks and companies, and other parameters of physical health, not just restricted to sleeping hours required by executives of advertisment companies.