The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument is flawed for a number of reasons. It assumes that the workplace environment is same for all the firms which participated in the study, plus, it also links sleep directly to the success of the firms. These assumptions are ambiguous and hence render the conclusion invalid.

Firstly, the study fails to account for the varying level of duties among the executives - some may require more effort than the other. For example, an executive may be incharge of hiring workforce while the other may be incharge of handling finances within the company. The difference in the work hours directly affects the sleep period. This voids the assumption that the workplace environment is same for all participants.

Secondly, it also assumes that the cause of the success of a firm is the deprivation of sleep. It states the less an executive sleeps, the more prosperous the firm becomes. This implies to maximize the profit, he/she must not sleep. This is generally not true since people need sleep to function properly and hence thwarts the conclusion.

Lastly, it assumes that sleep is the only factor that affects the profit of the firm. While there is a correlation between sleep and success, it is not the only factor to affect the firm’s prosperity: the productivity of the executives, the work capacity of the employees, the process of the company also play a role for the profit of the company. This renders the conclusion moot.

Since the argument makes unwarranted assumptions about the cause of firm’s success and the role of sleep thereof, it is highly unlikely that the conclusion of the study is valid.