The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author suggests that only people who sleep less than six hours per night should be hired. According to the recent study of 300 male and female advertising executives, those who need no more than 6 hours earn high profits and have faster growth. Convincing though the suggestion may sound, we should be alert to the assumptions in this argument.

To begin with, the author relies on the assumption that the executives exert the major positive effects on the success of an advertising firm. As we all know, the success of a company derives from the teamwork from all workers other than only a few managers. A normal advertising company usually includes a few parts, from planning to directing and painting. Profits derive from the groupwork of all parts in the company. If the executives only make the plans and the efficiency of achieving the plan depends mostly on the ordinary clerks, then this assumption is unwarranted; otherwise, if one can prove that all success of a firm springs from only the executives, then the assumption is strengthened.

Besides, it remains to be proved whether the executives who sleep less than six hours spend more time working than those who sleep longer. The author assumes that if an executive sleeps no more than six hours, he or she will work harder than others who sleep more than six hours. If further information proves that those executives who sleep fewer hours indeed are more hardworking than those who sleep more, then this assumption is reliable. What’s more, even if those executives devote more time to their work, the assumption remains uncertain that more time spent on work contributes a lot to higher profits and faster growth. Usually, to earn more and grow faster in a company requires the executive to be more creative and more responsible in an advertising firm. It is ideas and leadership that enables faster growth and more profits. If so, then the assumption is unwarranted.

Finally, granted that the results from the study are convincing in the advertising firms, the author assumes that all kinds of firms should follow this rule in hiring people. Besides advertising companies, there exists other kinds of companies, such as construction companies, restaurants, and shopping malls. In other fields, time is not as important as the advertising company; on the contrary, for the shopping mall, what brands should be contained are of greater importance than how long it services for people. If so, this assumption can be unwarranted given the fact that in most business companies, working for a longer time doesn’t necessarily suffice to generate more success. Also, the assumption that this rule should be applied to all positions in the company needs to be examined. For the salesman, it is not how long they work, but how the sell products that counts. Accordingly, this assumption is undermined considering the needs for different positions

To sum up, while the suggestion from the author sounds meaningful, it is based on several assumptions mentioned above. Only when we can clear all the assumptions can we fully believe hiring people with less than six hours of sleep is effective and crucial for any business company.