The following appeared as part of a column in a popular entertainment magazine.

The producers of the forthcoming movie 3003 will be most likely to maximize their profits if they are willing to pay Robin Good several million dollars to star in it - even though that amount is far more than any other person involved with the movie will make. After all, Robin has in the past been paid a similar amount to work in several films that were very financially successful.

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument.

The argument claims that the upcoming movie, 3003 will be most likely to maximize its profits if it would exorbitantly pay Robin Good to star in it. This prediction is based on historical accounts where Robin was paid a similar amount to work in several movies which eventually became very financially successful. Stated in this way, the argument disregards the other factors that could affect the financial success of the movie. Further, the author wrongly assumes a causality between getting an actor onboard and the financial outcome of the movie, when there may only be correlation between the two.

Firstly, the author mistakenly assumes that an actor’s involvement is the only factor that would determine the success of the movie. This statement is a stretch as the financial success of a movie is based on several aspects other than the associated actors, including the story, direction, dialogues and branding.

Further, the author uses instances of the past, and solely uses them used to predict the future outcome of the movie. This claim is also weak, as we do not have enough information about those movies. Perhaps, the other movies where Robin was paid a higher amount had strong storylines or other accomplished actors that contributed to their financial success.

The massive fee likely to be paid to Robin Good may be only partly justified if Robin has a massive fan following and the credibility of the other persons involved in the movie is sub-optimal or untested. In such a case, the exorbitant fee, higher than the amount any other person involved in the movie would make, could be construed as an incentive for Robin to join the inexperienced team, and this incentive could be thought to have helped the movie grab eyeballs.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. In order to fully assess the argument, further information pertaining to other aspects of 3003, and to the past movies referenced in the argument is critical. Without these data points, the argument does not have strong legs to stand on.