The following appeared as part of a column in a popular entertainment magazine:

“The producers of the forthcoming movie 3003 will be most likely to maximize their profits if they are willing to pay Robin Good several million dollars to star in it—even though that amount is far more than any other person involved with the movie will make. After all, Robin has in the past been paid a similar amount to work in several films that were very financially successful.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counter examples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument put forth in the popular entertainment magazine regarding how to maximize profits for the movie 3003 is well-intentioned but flawed. The argument assumes that Robin Good will maximize profits over another actor. It also alleges that paying more than the other people involved will make will move the movie towards profit, which is unknown. Finally, it makes the assertion that the amount paid to Robin Good in other finanically successful films, means that paying him a similar amount work will also make this film financially successful.

The argument makes a large assumption that paying Robin Good several million dollars to star in the movie 3003 will maximize profits. Even if paying him millions would increase profits, it is possible that paying another actor the same or a lesser amount will increase profits even more. Not to mention there are many other ways to maximize movie profits, such as streaming, without paying Robin Good several million. Not only did this argument assume that Good being paid millions would be the only way to maximize profits, but also it suggested that paying paying Good more money than any other person involved will make the money more profitable.

Not only does this argument assume that paying Good millions of dollars will maximize profits, but also it incorrectly asserts that paying Good more money than any other person involved will make the movie more profitable. If the other people involved are making the decisions regarding how much Good would be paid, they are not neccesarilly likely to pay Good more than they like make. Even if they wanted to, it is unclear is they even have the financial resources to do so. Not only did the argument suggest that paying paying Robin Good more money than any other person involved will make the money more profitable, but also it alleged that the amount Good is paid was the cause for the financial success of other movies.

Not only does this argument incorrectly assert that paying Good more money than any other person involved will make the money more profitable , but also it makes the cause of the financial success of other films the amount that Good was paid. It is unclear why the other movies where Good was paid millions were financially successful. It is possible they had better marketing, a stronger fan base, or a better release date. There is no guarantee that the reason for their financial success was because of the amount that Good was paid.

While this argument made an attempt to offer a suggestion to maximize the profits of the movie 3003, it falls short. The argument assumes that Good is the only star that would maximize profits, suggests that paying more than others will make is possible and profitable, and argues that the reason other films were financially succesful was the amount that Good was paid. The author of this article should took a look at the most profitable movies, the stars that were a part of them, the amount paid to each actor, the genre of the film, the type of marketing used, the release date, and what costs were present before attempting to make such an unfounded conclusion again.