The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Supporting the community with volunteering and financial support is an important part of sustainability goals. But, in my opinion, unpaid community service can't work in form of "must do" requirements and students should have right to take decisions by them own.

Volunteering trend is developing over the years. People around the world learn more about community's needs and importance to help the others. Corporate giants in cooperation with countries athorities launch big investment campaignes to provide the necessary help to less protected community groups. They prove the sence of true volunteering is always an altruistic activity. So the proposed graduation requirement of completing at least 8 hours of unpaid community service is forcing students to work.

It is obvious that forced activity doesn't bring the great results. Personal engagement and contribution are considered as the most effective ways to do the business. That is why such initiative can be accepted either negetively and can lead to time and human resources wasting.

I believe that initiative is honorable activity and shoud be implemented in the University, but the requirements should be changed. We can help the community by educating people, building the inside desire to help, but not by forcing them.