The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument contends that there are effects of birth order on the individual's level of stimulation. While the claim made in the given argument might seem well-founded at first glance, there are several assumptions and logical leaps in the reasoning that need to be addressed before we could determine the soundness of the conclusion drawn. However, there are some alternative explanations that need to be addressed before we can assess whether this recommendation is reasonable.

Firstly, there is a generalization flaw in the reasoning of the argument. A conclusion based on the study based on eighteen rhesus monkeys should not be drawn on entire mammals. What if another species of monkeys like Bengali monkeys do not follow the claim made.

Secondly, there is a causal flaw in the argument. The argument said that in encountering an unfamiliar situation, the first-born infant produces more cortisol hormone. What if there is another factor like code in the genes that signal the production of this hormone.

Thirdly, the argument said that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring. What is the guarantee that infants of these mother-monkeys also obtain higher levels of cortisol only because their mothers have higher levels of cortisol.

Upon highlighting these additional factors that can be pertinent to the claim drawn in the given argument, we can see that the argument makes several assumptions and fails to be persuasive. While the recommendation does highlight a potential reasoning, more information is required to assess the merits of the decision, otherwise, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.