The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.
A new study of a colony of meerkats provides insights into the effects of dominance on a male
meerkat’s levels of testosterone. The study showed that the dominant male of the meerkat
colony had blood levels of testosterone that were, on average, about double those of the
colony’s nondominant males. Alpha, or dominant, male dogs also have higher levels of
testosterone than non-dominant males. The study also found that the male offspring of
dominant male meerkats were born with higher testosterone levels than male offspring of non-
dominant males.
Considering the argument where study of a colony of meerkats provides insights into the effects of
dominanve on a male meerkat's level of testosterone. The study also showed that dominant male of the
meerkat colony had blood levels of testosterone averagely double of those of the colony's non-dominant
males. Male dogs also have higher levels of testosterone than non-dominant males. The study also puts
light on the fact that the male offspring of dominant male meerkats were born with higher testosterone
levels than that of the male offstring of non-dominant males.
As going through the argument, we can say that levels of testosterone in blood is related to genetics as
they are high if offspring is from dominant male meerkats and are low if the offspring is from non-
dominant male meerkats. This seems very much genetical that is carried from parent itself by offspring
containg levels of testosterone. Also, it is also possible that the environment in which dominant male
meerkats are surviving are much more favorable to rise in testosteron levels.
We cannot ignore an assumption that if we bring non-dominant males into same environment as that of
dominant males there is possiblility to rise in testosterone levels of that of non-dominant males, because
argument isn't taking environment as a fundamental concern but focusing on offsprings. As study on
dogs also states that testosterone levels are higher in male dogs than others. We can infer from the fact
that testosterone can be considered as male thing which makes them unique from the non-dominant
male category.