The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal."A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situ

The following argument is insufficient for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument states that there was a high level of cortisol on first time pregnant women than on monkeys how have several offspring. A monkey with high levels of cortisol does not mean the fetus will experience high levels of stimulation. It can be the first time parent monkeys experience high levels of cortisol because it is the first time they are experiencing a pregnancy but that does not mean that their fetus will experience high levels of cortisol.

The argument also states that first time human borns also experience high levels of cortiosol in stimulating situations. One, although human dna and monkey dna are very similar, monkeys are humans are the same. Second, it is important to consider that the stimulant situation, seeing the return of a parent after an absence is very different to the one done for monkeys, interacting with a monkey stranger

Furhtermore, the study was done on only 18 monkeys. Population size is not big enough to assume that birth order effects the levels of cortisol in monkeys. Had the argument provided information on the research on past studies with similar results, the argument could be stronger. Event then, the argument would have to prove further information on why specifically the order of a monkey's birth can effect cortisol levels.