Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

College education is a time when students explore other fields, some courses required and others because they are interested in learning more about. College education takes years to finish and nowadays more students graduate in 5 years than in 4 due to the amount of classes required. The number of college education would be less if students only had to take courses they're interested in. However, universities should not require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in.

First, by requiring students to only take courses they're interested in will limit the exploration of different fields. There have been cases where students don't think they will enjoy certain subjects and areas but after taking a course they really enjoy it. Sometimes students don't know if they will be good at or enjoy a subject until they take it. For example, if a student has to take a course in art but then after taking a class they realize they're really talented, that can change their career path/choice.

Furthermore, a diverse background knowledge is always an advantage in most careers. Career jobs don't want to hire only people who are limited to a certain field. Yes, it is important to be an expert in the field you want to be in but it is also important to have a wide range of knowledge that can be applied to any job.

Also, it may be required to know another field of study for a certain job but if the student has never been exposed to it, they will have not have the basic knowledge for it. Take for example a student who studied literature and now works as an assistant for a publisher. Perhaps that person may need to have knowledge on how to work with excel and report statistics on books sales and authors. If that person was never exposed to excel either through a math or science college course, they will have no idea of even the basic knowledge on how to work excel. Taking a college course that required excel could also be requirement for the job.

On the other hand, we could say that if students are required to take courses they're interested in studying, they will most likely pass the class with an outstanding score. When something interests you, you are more likely to put more effort and learn more about it. However, sometimes we think we would like to learn more about something until we are learning about it and it is more complicated than what we anticipated. A student may take a class on nutrition thinking they will enjoy it but later end up doing poorly due to the chemistry involved with the subject.

In conclusion, universities should not require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in because that will limit their scope of knowledge, experience, and exploration in other fields.