Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, th

The statement above explains how recently fishermen when on incusions by deep sea to find that Madagascan shrimp have significant reduction in the numer of population. Breeding season will soon arrive and the number of shrimp should multiply. However, the fisherman argues that the population will still not be as abundant as it should be. Since this trend is expected to continue for the next 7 years, the Madagascan shrimp will be an endangered species. The argument has many flaws and assumptions to convince the reader Madagascan shrimp will be endangered.

First, it is important to consider where the fishermen went to the incursions and how recent it was. It could be that where the fishermen went, there was not many Madagascan shrimp in the first place due to the time of the day or the year. Perhaps the majority of the Madagascan shrimp migrated to another part of the sea and only some of them were seen. Also, how recent was this exploration? It could have been one month or 3 months ago. During that time until now, things could have changed.

Next, the argument states theres a "significant" reduction of population but what does that mean? How much shrimp did we see before versus now? Besides the number in reduction of shrimp, it would be helpful to know how fast shrimp breed and how many breed per season. The argument would be stronger If we knew how much less and the breeding rate of Madagascan shrimp.

Lastly, the argument predicts that this trend will continue for the next seven years. This is a logical fallacy because we can't predict seven years from now based on a recent exploration. Perhaps if this has been a trend for more that 2 years, but even then predicting seven years from now is not a convincing prediction. A lot of things can change in a couple years and many in 7 years.

Lastly, this argument is not convincing and valid due to many assumptions and lack of information needed to make such conclusion.