The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A variety of assumptions are made in this argument that are clearly invalid. This argument claims that birthrates are declining and that the decline in birthrates will mean less money needs to be spent on the younger generation. The argument equally seeks to convince its readers that there will be an incline in adults in the city of Calatrava, and therefore, additional funding can go towards the adult population. A careful reader is sure to see that the points made in this excerpt are invalid and need further proof.

A first assumption to consider is that not enough information is given about the population in Caltrava. In example, 5 years ago, this city may have had 1000 residents. Currently, the city may have 500 residents. If the births, this year are half of the population 5 years ago, this could mean that 100 percent of residents gave birth this year. Thus, the city would need to put aside much more money towards education, athletic playing fields, and other recreational activities. Had the author of this passage, provided more information about how many residents existed in Caltrava 5 years ago and today, readers would have a better idea of how much funding needed to go towards the children being born.

Another assumption that this article makes is that less money needs to go towards athletic playing fields and recreational activities. Caltrava couple be a big football town that people from all over the state visit just to watch the kids play. This could bring lots of funds to the city. If the city stopped contributing money towards this popular sport, the lack of visitors could decline which could result in a further lack of funding in the city. In addition, if a hurricane hit this city recently or this year predicted the highest amount of snowstorms, Caltrava would need to set aside funding to ensure that enough existed to maintain athletic playing fields or outdoor recreational activities. Had the article discussed weather conditions and given more information about the residents in the city of Caltrava, it may have been stronger. Nevertheless, a lot can happen with weather, storms, and society that is unpredictable. Caltrava would need to consider this when trying to reduce funding for the public schools.

A final assumption that is made in this article is that there will be a larger adult population. There are many ways this could be untrue. Caltrava could have a population with the highest amount of heart attacks due to the city being poor and eating a poor diet like fast food on a daily basis. In addition, the Ebola virus could have just hit the city of Caltrava and many adults could be getting infected and dying. The audience does not know enough about the population of Caltrava to assume that additional funding needs to go to an increasing adult population. Had the article provided its audience with realistic demographic information about the adults this year in Caltrava, it would have been stronger.

The writer of the argument essentially wanted to show how Caltrava would need less funding for children and more for adults. In carefully reviewing this article, it was apparent that many assumptions were made that needed further evidence. Had this article provided further evidence about the city’s population and demographic, it may have been stronger.