The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the recommendation from the planning committee. It is stated that the city of Calatrava will have sufficient money to fund facilities and programs used primarily by adults. The committee has come to this conclusion based on the evidence of the decline in the birthrate which will result in the decrease in the number of students enrolled in primary and budget allocated for the schools including the various recreational facilities. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence must be ascertained.

First of all, the committee is assuming that the birth rate has a causal effect on the number of students enrolled in school. The implication of this is that if the birth rate should decrease then it is necessary that student enrollment will surely reduce. It is possible that due to the financial status of the parents, they cannot afford to send their children to school and not necessarily that they won’t even still give birth in the future. Further, it may also be that parents now give preference to private schools to provide quality education to their children. If this is true then the assumption by the committee does not hold water.

Secondly, public schools taking a considerable portion of the education budget. This assumption by the committee is flawed because different sub-divisions exist within the education sector with each having a particular allocation in the yearly budget. For instance, the national examination bodies saddle with the responsibility of setting examination for school have a specific budget and they might even be getting more than what is allocated to public schools to run their affairs.

Thirdly, the committee prematurely surmises that funding city projects will result in an increase in the population of the adult. These projects are community projects and they are meant to benefit both young and old. However, because these city facilities are mostly used by the adult does not necessitate this position. For example, a cinema built in the city centre can both be visited by young and adult, infant the young one has more affinity to go watch movies and relax with a friend. Also, recreation facilities can be used by both the young and adult to keep a good body shape and a healthy lifestyle.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably weakened due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If the committee is able to provide enough evidence to strengthen her position then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that the city of Calatrava will have sufficient money to fund facilities and programs used primarily by adults with the decline primarily in the birth rate.