The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prediction of the less headaches fo the citizens of Mentia is based many different assumptions that would need futher context in order to evaluate their validility.

One assumption is that salicylates and aspirin act the same. While members of the same chemical family may act similar and share similar chemical make-up, it is important to remember that the members are not the same. It also key remember that chemicals can act differently in various states. Water can be a solid, liquid, or gas depending on the tempature or the pressure that is being used on it. If salicylates acted differently from aspirin due to the state they were in when they entered food, then the effect of taking aspirin and salicylates would be different. This would cripple the argument since it was assumed that salicylates and aspirin acted the same. Assuming salicylates are the same as aspirin is a key element for the prediction that is being made.

The idea that rise in commercial use of salicylates related to the decline in average number of headaches reported is key to the argument being made. If this were true, the assumption in the last sentence would be accurate since it assumes that the increase in salicylates being introduced as flavor additives would also decrease head aches. However, if the decreases to head aches in the population was due to another factor, then the argument for a continued decrease in headaches due to salicylates would be null. An example of another factor is an increases in exercise or in sleep by the average citizen. Another key assumption is that an increase in salicylates will not result in an increase of other side effects. An increase of salicylates could also create additional problems since it would lead to an overdose in that chemical. Taking too much aspirin can cause bleeding and nausal and these symptons could prove fatal if a person conitued to take them. Correlation between the increase in the use of salicylates in food and the decline in headaches for the average citizen is the biggest part of the argument for prediction of the decreases in headaches in future.

Predicting how an increase in salicylates would effect the number of headaches is difficult.