The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches.

Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives.

This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study.

Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods.

With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The study conducted on the residents of Mentia, tells us that the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia have declined due to the effects of the chemical Salicyclates. This premise was based on the fact that the addition of Salicyclate to their products as preservatives and flavour additives by food- processing companies lead to a steady decline in the headaches. But, there need to be specific evidences to uphold this argument.

Firstly, is there any specific amount of data suggesting the direct decline in the headaches of the citizens provided by the companies that add the chemical. The companies are focused on using the chemical as a preservative and not as an anodyne to relieve headaches. For example, say if a company is using coconut oil which is salubrious, as an alternative to processed oil because it acts a enhanced preservative then there is solid evidence that the people consuming the coconut oil fried food are immune to illnesses. Also, if a company is using natural sugars instead of artificial ones in their products to improve their, quality of the product, there are signs that people consuming the product will never problems of diabetes. Thus, it's quite critical to provide a direct relation by the companies to bolster this argument.

Secondly, it is important to take into account the lifestyle of the people living in Mentia, whether they are themselves fit as fiddle due a healthy diet and exercise. To illustrate this, take into account the fact if the people themselves are very cautious about their dietary requirements and maintain a healthy exercise regime, then even without the need of the chemicals like Salicyclates they are likely to not face health problems.

In conclusion, in order to completely authenticate the claims that Salicyclates are useful to control headaches, the complete data of the affect of the chemical on the populace considered must be taken into account and there must a detail report regarding the lifestyle of the people and how the drug may or may not be required. Till these evidences then the presented argument must be considered flawed.