The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

In the summary provided, the author states that the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia declined steadily because the use of Salicylates is elevated in foods consumed by the people of that city. The author has come to this conclusion based on the analysis that this commercial use of salicylates(a member of the chemical family of aspirin) correlates to the fact that there has been a tremendous reduction in the average number of headaches of citizens of Mentia. It’s easy to understand why this correlation may stand valid for the author, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus not strong enough to validate the author’s conclusion.

First of all, Citing the twenty-year study that highlights a decline in the number of headaches reported in the city, the author states that the rise in the industrial usage of this chemical(Salicylate) is the ideal explanation behind it. It’s not clear, however, the scope and validity of this study for multiple reasons. The study, as mentioned, is a compilation of reports from the previous twenty years. There is a possibility that there might have taken place, numerous dynamical changes in the city’s industrial elements in reference to food consumption.

Additionally, even if the fact that the number of headaches has reportedly declined, it cannot significantly be the sole reason for this change in statistics. There can be other dynamic reasons that might contribute to the report, like advancement in the medical fields, an increase in the percentage of adaptivity of healthy patterns in people of the city, limited range of people being surveyed for the report, etc. If either of these scenarios have merit, then the assumption made by the author does not hold water.

Building upon the implication that Salicylates, being a member of the family of Aspirin have the potential to help treat a headache, the author, by establishing a correlation between these two chemicals, culminates that adding Salicylates will effectively cure headaches similarly as Aspirin does. It is not necessarily true that all chemicals that belong to the same family of a particular medicine, have the same functionality as that medicine. Thus, the assumption that the derivatives of a particular medicine have the same formula as the medicine itself significantly weakens the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more evidence, then it is possible to fully evaluate the viability of the inference